Friday, October 31, 2014

Wait for Signs: Twelve Longmire Stories

Title: Wait for Signs: Twelve Longmire Stories
Author: Craig Johnson
Published: October 21st 2014 by Viking Adult
Format: Hardcover; Pgs 192
Genre: Short Stories
Series: Walt Longmire

Craig Johnson is a natural born storyteller. Whether it is his longer novels or his short stories, he draws in his readers and has them alternating between shaking their heads and laughing aloud.

In this collection of twelve short stories, Walt Longmire shares a little bit more about his life. Filling in gaps or rounding out other characters, Craig Johnson draws his readers in. I fell in love with this man the first time I read about his shower curtain trying to turn him into a sheriff burrito, continued my love affair when the man, while in pursuit, yelled “hi, ho creampuff” and continue on every time he and Henry Standing Bear get another one of their hair brained ideas.

It all boils down to the humor and that is what you will find in these exceptional short stories. If this is your first visit with Walt Longmire, I implore you to start at the beginning of the series. Do not judge the books by the television show because there is so much more in these pages.

Turn off the television and open the books. You will be glad that you did.

1 comment:

Diana Draper said...

I just saw Craig Johnson at the New England Crime Bake and he was wonderful.
I'm a fan.

Mike Draper