Monday, September 23, 2013

Mailbox Monday - The Yard



Currently on a Blog Tour with a New Host Each Month


Title: The Yard
Author: Alex Grecian
Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) (May 29, 2012)
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Suspense / Fiction
Source: Paperbackswap.com
Series: Scotland Yard's Murder Squad #1

Overview

1890, London. Jack the Ripper’s reign of terror is finally over, but a new one is just beginning…

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives – known as “The Murder Squad” – to investigate countless murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own…one of twelve…

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad…but why?

In The Yard Alex Grecian offers a meticulously researched vision of the bustling city of London, which teems with Dickensian color. With a masterful talent for storytelling, he weaves multiple narratives that converge in a heart-stopping climax. Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, The Yard is a spectacular debut in a new series showcasing the depravity of the late Victorian city, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Jed Rubenfeld.

3 comments:

Tea norman said...

I would love to read this one. Believe it or not I've never read a book about Jack The Ripper. His name always scares me to death.:) Enjoy your mail box.

Rita_h said...

I love Jack the Ripper tales. Thank you for recommending this one.

Rita_h said...

I love Jack the Ripper tales. Thanks for recommending this title.