Saturday, July 3, 2010

Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death

Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death (#7 in the Series)

MC Beaton

4 out of 5

I enjoyed this one a bit more than the last. The Agatha Raisin books tend to be a hit or miss with me, but the Wellspring of Death kept my interest.

I do recommend that these books be read in order since the true plot, no matter what murder Agatha encounters, is really about the on again / off again relationship between Agatha and James.

Agatha returns to Cotswold after her broken engagement to James, when she is approached to do the Public Relations work for the Ancombe Water Company who is trying to negotiate with the local council regarding bottling water from the village spring. Not everyone is in agreement with this idea and when Robert Struthers, who has not yet cast his vote on this decision, is found dead, snoopy Agatha just can't let a good murder or two go unsolved.

With her usual cast of cohorts, she sets out to find out what is at the bottom of this. It doesn't hurt that a much younger man is interested in Agatha, its just what she needs to get James to pay attention, or so she thinks, since Agatha does have a tendency to misread the intentions of some men.

The Agatha Raisin Series always seems to entertain me. Sometimes the plot lines drag a bit, but Agatha is always a source of entertainment and giggles. For being an independent worldly type, Agatha sure does have a problem with day in and day out relationships, not to mention her never ending bad choices when it comes to James.

No comments: